RIVALS Break the Cycle with New Single “Bleeding Star”

Los Angeles based Dark-Pop band RIVALS is not slowing down as they release their third single this year. Following the string of confident tracks, “Bleeding Star” empowers fans to break through their generational trauma to build a new and brighter future. With their summer headliner wrapped up, RIVALS show no sign of stopping as they hit the road again as direct support for Dragged Under this fall. Lead singer Kalie Wolfe had this to say about the new single:

“Bleeding Star” is a song about breaking generational trauma. By not letting the trauma our parents put on us throughout our lives be put back into this world. That we are the generation that is breaking the toxicity that was the past and becoming the new future. We find our vices and become new and whole in our own ways. We are the new generation, we will break the cycle.” – Kalie Wolfe

RIVALS’ latest album, Sad Looks Pretty on Me, exists in two worlds. The Los Angeles quartet — vocalist Kalie Wolfe, bassist Sebastian Clarke, guitarist Micket Woodle, and drummer Josh Alves — draw a wobbly line between blossoming pop-rock and wilting post-hardcore, often alternating between sides for earth-shattering effects. By wearing their inspirations proudly (and enlisting the help of contemporaries), RIVALS clamor for the attention of both radio listeners and bedroom moshers. Their explosive live act—which has garnered the attention of audiences nationwide—will wear this new set of songs.

Try this on for size: how many songs have you heard that begin like “Fake Rich,” out of the gate with stuttering percussion, but end up turning the corner with a gnarly breakdown courtesy of Cane Hill frontman Elijah Witt? It’s a perfect distillation of the band’s core ethos: create a club hit, curl it around sneering guitars and urgent drums, and tear it down. While this mentality of pop-metal destruction is relentless and well-stocked here, like on the pitch-shifted alt-metal of “On the Loose” and the dirtied, jagged synth-rock of “Little Mistakes,” Wolfe and company are concerned with creation, too. From the ashes of tortuous mental anguish, RIVALS always rise to the challenge of confronting demons head-on—while fashioning their moods into something irresistible.  

Check out “Bleeding Star,” the new track by RIVALS on all streaming platforms. Head to WeAreRVLS.com for tour dates, tickets, and more. 

Dragged Under: The Upright Animals Tour

Ft. RIVALS and ARYIA

With: The Seafloor Cinema (8/22-9/6) and Glasslands (9/10-9/22)

Tickets on Sale Now Here

Mon, Aug 22, 2022 Detroit, MI @ Sanctuary

Tue, Aug 23, 2022 Lakewood, OH @ Mahalls

Wed, Aug 24, 2022 Buffalo, NY @ Mohawk Place

Thu, Aug 25, 2022 Philadelphia, PA @ Foundry

Fri, Aug 26, 2022 Hartford, CT @ Webster Underground

Sat, Aug 27, 2022 Brooklyn, NY @ The Meadows

Sun, Aug 28, 2022 Harrisburg, PA @ HMAC Stage

Tue, Aug 30, 2022 Columbus, OH @ Big Room Bar

Wed, Aug 31, 2022 Richmond @ Canal Club

Thu,Sep 1, 2022 Nashville, TN @ The End

Fri, Sep 2, 2022 Columbia, SC @ New Brookland Tavern

Sat, Sep 3, 2022 Orlando, FL @ Haven Lounge

Sun, Sep 4, 2022 Jacksonville, FL @ Archetype

Sep 6, 2022 Tampa, FL @ Brass Mug

Sat, Sep 10, 2022 Atlanta, GA @ Purgatory

Sun, Sep 11, 2022 Louisville, KY @ Zanzabar

Mon, Sep 12, 2022 St. Louis, MO @ The Ready Room

Tue, Sep 13, 2022 OKC, OK @ 89th Street

Thu, Sep 15, 2022 San Antonio @ Vibes underground

Fri, Sep 16, 2022Dallas, TX @ Cheapsteaks

Sat, Sep 17, 2022 Houston, TX @ Secret Group

Mon, Sep 19, 2022 Mesa, AZ @ Nile Underground

Tue, Sep 20, 2022 Las Vegas, NV @ Post 8 Legion Hall

Wed, Sep 21, 2022 San Diego, CA @ Voodoo Room at HOB

Thu, Sep 22, 2022 Anaheim, CA @ Chain Reaction

Leave a Reply